Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays everyone!

Isn’t it crazy that it’s Christmas already? I just can’t get over how quickly time seems to be passing as of recent. I mean, some days it feels like I just got home from the hospital land of good ole’ Colorado, but that was back in August…woah. *pause to filter through nostalgic memories*

The holidays are a pretty special time and I feel like I’m not the only one who feels that way. So much to do and so many memories to make. So many pictures are taken and so much time to spend with family. But the holidays can also be a challenging time of the year. Sometimes it’s dealing with the loss of a loved one, sometimes its a disagreement among relatives, sometimes it’s dealing with feelings of jealousy and anger when comparisons are unnecessarily made.

But I had a really beautiful Christmas, one that was both special and challenging.

I mean, how can it not be special when I am able to simply be here and experience it. I get to experience the hustle and bustle of prepping the house for my Mom’s side of the family to come and celebrate Christmas Day together. I get to celebrate the gift of true life I’ve been given as a child of God. I get to experience the laughter as Mom sends my older sister on countless wild goose chases through the grocery store just because she can. I get to experience the priceless look on my aunts face when she opened up the best gag gift I’ve ever gotten for someone…

Some gifts just keep giving...

Some gifts just keep giving…

Yep, that’s what you think it is…it’s a long story….(okay, not that long, but sometimes a mystery is good for the soul:p)

But how can this year not be challenging when everything is so very different from any Christmas memories my family and I have ever made. I’ve said it before, different isn’t always bad, it’s really not. But you know, sometimes different is hard. It’s hard to feel less helpful then those around you because you can’t simply run downstairs to get something from the freezer for Mom. It’s hard to feel like your constantly in the way because no matter how much you “suck it in,” you’re still just as wide as before.

But I can’t and never will be able to change these things, so I’m learning (well trying to learn) to accept the constant presence of change and laugh at it when I can. For example, Christmas presents this year were beautifully wrapped in the boxes my catheters come in. Yep, nothing says Merry Christmas like Coloplast right? *facepalm* Thank God for laughter…

And thank God for my wonderful family.
They really did make my Christmas beautiful.
PicMonkey Collage

2 thoughts on “Happy Holidays!

  1. Dan&Ann Oberschlake says:

    Again, the most wonderful posting and Merry Christmas to you Samantha and your wonderful family!! May this New Year bring many wonderful new events and moments!! You always make us smile and think….

Leave a Reply

