Mom. Mom? MOM!

Exhale.

Okay, where to even start…I feel like there’s so much going on right now, so much I’m working on and doing on a daily basis that my mind doesn’t even know how to organize it all. If you ask me, that makes it really challenging to process and prepare for things, especially big things….

You might have noticed the little count down deal on the side of the page that the benefit/party is in a mere 4 days. Woah. I’m really excited. But I’m also really nervous. Actually, I’m scared poop-less.

You see, I’ve never been good with the whole concept of needing help. I’m never been very good at accepting help and it often takes me a lot longer to ask for help than it probably should and I wouldn’t get myself into stupid predicaments…

cat-is-stuck

Yea, you don’t even want to know how many times I’ve pulled something like that little kitten and had to start the ….mom….Mom?….MOM! chant.

Does asking for help make you weak? Does it mean you actually are less of a person because you can’t suck it up and deal with everything on your own? What about accepting help, does someone offering to help mean they think you can’t do something? And then by accepting the help you confirm you really can’t?

As a new lady-in-a-wheelchair, I’ve been very slowly (and I mean VERY slowly) learning what “help” is actually all about.

Help is about stepping outside of your own world and into someone else’s, doing just the tiniest of things in hopes of beautifying their world a bit more. Maybe it’s a smile on the face of a passing stranger, maybe its an open door.

Help is about being considerate. Sometimes being considerate is asking if  someone even wants help. I’m speaking from first-hand experience when I say a complete stranger pushing me without my permission is both terrifying and to me, degrading. Heck, I don’t even let my family push me. But the offer to do so? That I appreciate. That honestly means more to me than the action.

Help is about supporting those you care about. It’s a listening ear, a shoulder to cry on, a ridiculous joke, or encouragement that you really can do whatever you put your mind to.

Help is also about two little adorable doggies waking you up in the morning (bad hair day and all) with countless kisses to the point they get “banished” to kissing only the parts of your body you can’t feel…

Photo Nov 06, 8 24 57 AM

Yea, that seriously happens every morning…

I guess I’ve learned that help can be a beautiful thing when it’s given with the right intentions. It’s not by chance that it feels good to help out another person. It’s also not by chance that it can sometimes feel good to be helped.

We all exist on this crazy and beautiful earth together.
Why should we face our trials alone?

5 thoughts on “Mom. Mom? MOM!

  1. Jan Ingalls says:

    I have followed your journey since your accident and have never commented before, but, I must say, you are one, strong, determined young lady, who I admire so. Keep up your positive attitude. You are going places!!!

  2. Jayne Zuleger says:

    Yes , you continue to inspire me. Even an old lady can learn from a young buck like you. I’m looking forward to seeing you on Sat.

  3. Kathy Widowski says:

    Sam, I have kept up with your site since learning of you through Alex. Perhaps luke can give you some lessons on how to accept help — yesterday, as we were in the midst of training a new CNA, he looked at me very seriously and commented , ” mom, I think I’ve figured out what my gift is… I think it’s commanding people! ” His dry humor had me holding my sides with laughter… And I DO hope our new worker decides to stay after hearing that! LOLOLOL

Leave a Reply

