Mom-ing Glory

As you likely know, this Sunday is Mother’s Day. If you didn’t realize that, your welcome in advance.

You know, I appreciate holidays that urge you to appreciate or be thankful for something. Thanksgiving has always been on the top of my “favorite holiday” list but there is simply SO MUCH to be thankful for  that it’s nice that certain things get their own mini-holidays.

If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, you have certainly met (in a sense) my Mom. There was this time when my sisters and I planned a surprise wedding anniversary party for her and Dad, or this time when I almost got her arrested at the airport, or this time when I talked about my Mom’s obsession with Costco toilet paper (which also happened here and here and I’m sure a bajillion other places…) Needless to say, Mom makes a lot of blogging appearances.

Yet, I know I’ve never “dedicated” an entire blog post to her and I think now would be the perfect time. Okay Mom, I know you’re rolling your eyes going “oh great” and you would be correct, it is great:D Now stop rolling your eyes.

hallo

My family has always been pretty close to one another and that can certainly be seen in almost any picture from my childhood. Mom took on what I’m convinced to be the hardest job on the planet and was/is a stay-at-home mom for us three girls. That meant she was there and involved in every and all aspects of our very busy lives. Whether it was 4-H related activities, karate lessons, or coming up with and helping to make ridiculously impressive Halloween costumes, Mom was there.

Fast forward to all of us in high school where she supported each and every one of the ridiculous endeavors we involved ourselves with. Jazz Band, Show Choir, the school musicals, the high school plays, planning an after prom and after graduation party (complete with a cash cube…you know, monopoly/real money flying all around in the air that you have to catch) and then the epic parties. At my graduation party, not only were my sheep present but there was a bounce house and dunk tank. Seriously. I mean, what kind of mom does that? Well, mine does.

grad1

Fast forward through college (again, supporting us whether we’re 20 minutes from home or 4 hours) and then we get to wheeling land. Mom was there and has been there through it all. From the day I “came to” at Craig Hospital in Colorado to the the months of struggling to find acceptance to finally finding my independence again, she was there in all her Mom-ing glory.

Mom-ing glory. What’s that you ask? Well, let me break it down for you.

It’s pulling my PICC line (basically an IV on steroids) and PEG tube (a feeding tube) out of the garbage can and cleaning them off when they were removed at Craig because even though I didn’t want to see them right at that moment, she knew I would want to see them eventually. Sure enough, an hour later I was asking about both of them…Curiosity always gets the best of me.

It’s allowing me to cry and crying with me the night at Craig that I saw a picture of the tree that fell on me and was completely unprepared. It really is amazing I’m even alive.

It’s tapping me (extremely excitedly) on the leg to get my attention as we neared the site of “Hobie Day” –a day for Craig hospital patients to go sailing and enjoy life–thus beginning Mom’s (very very) slow realization that I can’t feel my legs and that tapping them will probably never get my attention.

It’s making sure we (and the rest of the extended family) always have plenty of toilet paper — Costco’s Kirkland brand to be precise.

It’s forgoing her own social calendar in order to travel with me across the country as Ms. Wheelchair America 2015 and experience all the countless adventures that came with it.

It’s putting up with me and all my wise cracks and now sending them flying right back. Mom’s pretty good and making sure my head stays the right size so I can fit through doors…

It’s all of those things and so SO many more.

When I speak at different events, Mom will still come with on occasion just to listen. I always shake my head and say, “Why Mom? You know my story.” But she just smiles and comes for moral support anyway. I can’t even tell you how many times people have remarked about how “special” our relationship is and yea, I guess special is one word for it.

My sisters and I were chatting the other day about how often we catch ourselves using “Mom-isms,” especially my older sister who’s a teacher. “You’d lose your head if it wasn’t attached to your body.” “If you don’t want it done to you, don’t do it to somebody else.” “Close your mouth, open your eyes, and look.” I could go on…

Needless to say, I had to laugh when my new bosses gave me this really awesome gift for Administrative Professionals Day.

mom

It’s one of those things that you realize is overwhelmingly true
and you can’t help but smile and laugh.

At the same time, I’m proud to admit that I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 thoughts on “Mom-ing Glory

  1. Jayne says:

    To k,ow your mom, is to love your mom. I too was the stay at home mom, and I’m sure my kids have many a mom isms. Sat hi to your mo, and tell her no for the 4h choir reunion. Too busy this June. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

