Shhhhhh

I’ve been pretty quiet over the past two months and you know, silence can be a beautiful thing (just ask my Mom). It’s amazing how sometimes, the presence of nothing can be a something greater than an actual anything…

Yea, that doesn’t necessarily make a whole lot of sense and I don’t know if I’ve had enough coffee today to make it make sense, but I think it is a valid point. Nothing can be a powerful something.

Do you ever sit and just be? Sit in revered silence as the world spins around you? Sit and just feel? Feel the way a chair presses against your shoulder blades?  Feel your chest rise and fall with each breath as your heart beats at its own unique tempo? Feel through your emotions of the day, giving them the time they deserve to be processed?

grandma

A: I raced Grandma’s Marathon again 🙂

I’ll be the first to admit that “just being” isn’t something I’m very good at (see Exhibit A to the right). My blog tagline is “Never Sitting Still” for a reason and if you saw my color-coded google calendar, you would understand how accurate of a statement that tagline is. I love the things I’m doing and would struggle to pick even 2 or 3 of them to remove from my day to day life. Yet, when you fill your life with “somethings,” there really isn’t room for “nothings”…

You know, maybe the key doesn’t lie with the “nothings.” Maybe it’s more of learning how to fully experience those “somethings.” Learning how to be deliberate in experiencing your present, savoring the moments of now without worry or anxiety over yesterday or tomorrow.

Life unfolds in the present. Yet sometimes, I find myself  waiting and looking so hard for the future that I don’t even notice when a page of my here and now turns. I guess that’s a recent realization of mine. Life’s future is beautifully unpredictable, a family member passes away, expectations at work change, a good friend decides to leave the country and then move away upon returning.

The future is unpredictable. The past is memories. But the present….the present isn’t a goal or a destination. This is it. You’re here. Right now. And you have the opportunity to delight in and absorb each and every glorious aspect of this moment because it’ll never be JUST like this again.

Sure, sometimes things are hard. Challenges exist, obstacles arise, and through sweat and brute force you’ll have to push forward. But isn’t that the beauty of the human experience? Getting to take in those lessons and observations that come from struggling through an awareness of your reality? A reality that belongs to you and only you.

I guess that’s where I’ve been over the past few weeks, practicing that act of appreciating my now. Learning to appreciate my “larger” now of work, volunteering, application season, family excursions, and time spent with a good friend. Learning to love and appreciate my “immediate” now of listening to  Brand New by Ben Rector under blue skies, bathed by summertime sun and warmth in a body whose triceps and trapezius muscles are singing the song of their productive morning workout.

You know, now is a perfect place to be.
Actually, now is THE perfect place to be.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Shhhhhh

  1. Dan Gresens says:

    After an anxiety-filled, heart-racing night, your words were a message that I needed to hear. Thank you.
    God moves in mysterious ways. I could have read this yesterday when I first saw it, but after last night, reading it today had much more meaning.

  2. Jayne says:

    Love it. I too am trying to work at just being. Just being in the moment with no expectations. We planners have a hard time with that. Trying to not fill the calendar with stuff and just having the time to BE. Thank you for your beautiful reminder. On vacation in TX right now to see our daughter and family and will try to just BE and enjoy their presence.

Leave a Reply

